North American Car of the Year Trophy


During media days at the 2017 Los Angeles Auto Show, representatives from Deloitte & Touche and the awards committee announced the three finalists for the 2018 North American Car of the Year, 2018 North American Truck of the year and 2018 North American Utility of the Year.

Although patterned after the European Car of the Year award, the North American awards are given out in three categories – car, utility, and truck – rather than just one. 2018 will mark the twenty-fifth year of the North American awards – the longest in this market not associated with a specific automotive publication.

Awarded for "excellence in innovation, design, safety, performance, technology, driver satisfaction and value," the jury is comprised of nearly 60 journalists from the United States and Canada. In order to be eligible for consideration, a vehicle must be "all new or substantially changed" from the previous model and be on sale shortly after the announcement of the awards.

The winners will be revealed at a press conference following the opening of media days during the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS does not sponsor the awards) on January 15th, 2018.

North American Car of the Year Trophy

Award trivia: During the previous 24 years, hybrids have won the North American Car of the Year award 6 times, while last year the Chevrolet Bolt became the first all-electric vehicle to win the award. Domestic automakers have been honored with the award thirteen times, Japanese automakers have won it four times, European automakers have received it five times, and Korean automakers have won it twice.

In the North American Truck of the Year competition, domestic automakers have taken the award home fifteen times, while Japanese automakers have won five times and European automakers have won four times. Eligible vehicles include all sizes of pickups as well as light- and medium-duty commercial vans.

The North American Utility of the Year award was new for 2017. In addition to crossovers and SUVs, this segment also includes "passenger-oriented" minivans and was won by the Chrysler Pacifica.

The process this year began with a list of "all the new or substantially changed" cars, trucks and utilities that were eligible for the awards. The finalists were then chosen from a short list of a dozen or so vehicles in each category.

2018 NACTOY finalists

2018 Kia Stinger

Car of the Year

Honda Accord

Kia Stinger

Toyota Camry

2018 Odyssey Elite

Utility Vehicle of the Year

Alfa Romeo Stelvio

Honda Odyssey

Volvo XC60

2018 Lincoln Navigator

Truck of the Year

Chevrolet Colorado ZR2

Ford Expedition

Lincoln Navigator